Journey of Faith

Strength for Today ~ Bright Hope for Tomorrow

Free From Fear 03/07/2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Journey of Faith @ 11:35 am

“God has not given us the spirit of fear but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

We’ve all been there, we’ve all had fears of one kind or another.  I’m not talking about healthy fears, the kind that keep us safe, as in the fear of sky diving, we-don’t-do-it-so-we-don’t-die type of fear. The fear of the unknown or the “what ifs” can be one of the worst and most destructive. I have had fears before and they are like a spiritual sickness or disease. I get pretty frequent headaches and they can be painful and debilitating to everyday life. It seems within our heads our whole body is made able to move and function but when there is pain there, the whole body is weak and suffers.

Fear, too, can be painful and debilitating to my everyday life. It can consume my thoughts, eat away at me and change my life for the worse. God used the powerful medicine of the Scriptures to fight off fear in my life. The verse, “…Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” Philippians 4:8 ESV

When I am sick, medicine needs to be taken as often as necessary for me to be healed and for the pain to go away. When spiritually sick or diseased by fears, Scripture is the wonderful cure and I have faith that it will help me. Sometimes, it needs to be taken (read) over and over again until I am all better, but when the cure takes over and I no long feel the pain of the fear and the way it consumed me, I am healed. I am free.

 

2 Responses to “Free From Fear”

  1. Sharon Weiss Says:

    Annie, I love reading your blogs! It shows your beautiful heart, your great faith in the Lord., and how you are growing and learning everyday. These are things we don’t often express to one another in everyday conversation, but I’m glad you are able to express your innermost thoughts in such a beautiful way. May your blog be a blessing to someone today–they have been to me! Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

