Journey of Faith

Strength for Today ~ Bright Hope for Tomorrow

When I need God to FEEL like my friend 04/09/2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Journey of Faith @ 7:44 pm

Sundays for us have been one of the crazier days that sometimes start off a little harried.  Sunday is a day of rest and worship and wouldn’t the enemy love to just throw in some stress and a lost shoe first thing in the morning. It seems that finding that matching sock or lost “Sunday only” shoe is often missing when trying to get out the door at a relatively decent time (in fact in just happened yesterday, Easter). Sundays just seem like the day everyone should look their best and get out the door on time, making things a little rough.

A couple of weeks ago it was a seemingly normal Sunday morning. We made it to church, greeted some friends and in there somewhere something was said to me that just made me feel kinda weak, a little less than adequate and the funny thing is, it was no ones fault but my own weakness speaking loudly to me. Whether it was a lie being spoken in my mind or just a time when I felt more vulnerable, I’m not sure. All I know is I sat in church that day feeling down and left feeling that way.  Later that afternoon, I decided to pick up my Bible as I’m learning to do when I need strength or encouragement.  God hasn’t always spoken directly to my need or perhaps I’m not always looking for Him like I should but this day, He did. I opened my Bible to the passage that was in the “Our Daily Bread” for that day and it spoke directly to me and how I was feeling. It was 1 Cor. 12:22 & 23a “On the contrary, the parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable. and on those parts of the body that we think less honorable, we bestow the greater honor.”  (You may need to read the whole chapter to get the full context.) But wow, thank you, Lord! He really does care when I’m feeling sad. That was all I needed to hear, a moment when Jesus did really feel like my friend. He says that He is the friend that sticks closer than a brother (Prov. 18:24), but this day, I felt it. It was not only what the Scripture said, but the fact that He intimately knew my need and met it when I needed Him too. Although we don’t always feel God is near, He is. For every problem we face, He is just a bowed head, paged turned or heart softened away.

 

Leave a Reply

