Journey of Faith

Strength for Today ~ Bright Hope for Tomorrow

The Hard Questions (from the kids) 05/01/2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Journey of Faith @ 9:58 am

 

It’s late and he comes in with tears about to roll down his cheek and I know something is bothering him. I ask him what’s wrong and he doesn’t speak. Or says, “nothing”. He sits on my lap and I try to comfort him. He doesn’t want to tell me what’s wrong. I tell him, “You can tell me anything, I’m your Mom, I love you”. “How can I help you if I don’t know what it is?” He tries to tell me but can’t. He looks in a book to see if he can find words to tell me. I guess and guess. “Are you hurt”?  He says, “sort of, not really”.  “Where? Outside, inside? What are you thinking?”

Finally, we come to some sort of understanding, he knows he asked Jesus into His heart, but wanted to know how can he know that the Bible is true? He’s a smart thinker for his age. Not a question I expected so soon. I wanted to take him to the Bible, but he wanted to know how he could know that IT was true so I went to another solid resource close at hand. I read to him but probably most of it was over his head. Then I said, “you don’t have to worry, you can know that God is who He says He is and the Bible is true.” And I told how God preserved His word for us and all who are still to come.  I went on about God’s love for him and His thoughts towards him being more in number than the grains of sand and that He put him in a Christian family so he could learn about God and have a relationship with him. That’s what he desires most, our hearts, and that He can tell God his uncertainties and anything. “God will grow your faith and I’ll pray for you too.”

John 17:17  …”Thy Word is Truth.”

I wonder too, did I say something to make him have this question? They can hear and sense things from us. This reminds me of the battle we are in and how it has to be fought, the best place, is on our knees. I don’t do it enough. I’m constantly reminded that is the place I need to be in, the place of helplessness to God in prayer for my kids, my family and those I love.

 

2 Responses to “The Hard Questions (from the kids)”

  1. Dad Says:

    well said Annie
    love, Dad


Leave a Reply

