Journey of Faith

Strength for Today ~ Bright Hope for Tomorrow

Working heart-ily! 04/11/2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Journey of Faith @ 4:38 pm

DSCN0615

I know God wants me to learn something when He brings it to my attention more than once in just a couple weeks, and He has on this: “And whatsoever you do, do it heartily as to the Lord and not unto men.
Knowing that of the Lord you shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for you serve the Lord Christ.”

Surely I write out of process instead of knowledge except for what I know the Bible says. There is a difference. I read this verse, “understand” what it’s teaching even desire to implement it but not sure I know how.

My everyday job is to help my husband, nurture my kids and build my home. It involves “men”, people. I naturally love my husband so I usually want to help him. I love my kids so I desire to nurture them, and the pride of a clean home is reward in itself. If you know me, though, clean home is relative. I am not an ultra-organizer or immaculate housekeeper, our house is very lived in, but when it’s picked up to the point I feel it clean, a “clean” home is my reward. Because this is an everyday, all day job, it can become frustrating, overwhelming and mundane. When it’s dreary outside and you’ve been counting the days until Spring or more importantly, Spring weather, the frustrations get magnified.
God has helped bring a little truth to my situation that should do away with these frustrations, the ones that shout, “there is always, always, always something to clean or that needs repeated cleaning over and over again”. God has said, “you serve the Lord Christ”. Naturally, I think I’m serving my kids by constantly picking up after them or serving my husband by helping him but really if I can ask God to help me understand this truth in His Word and gain this perspective, I think this everyday job will be much easier to do and it should even bring with it joy.
Because I love my family, it’s well and good to want to please them, but when that is my only focus, it becomes overwhelming. Usually these things are done out of duty, or because it’s the right thing to do or because it will make my husband and kids happy(and I know there is an element of wanting to please God in this), but daily and “chore by chore” I want to do it heartily as to the Lord.
This morning in Ladies Bible study, there was a quote from the speaker that leaped out at me, “what you do in your home is as if you were doing it in Heaven for Jesus”. A truth, but also an encouragement to me that God used the speaker to help me just a little bit more in my understanding of “working heartily…” One thing I know about Jesus, from personal experience is that if you really desire to seek Him and find wisdom, He will show you. I am hanging on to this hope. I am in the process of this, still desiring the joy that comes from serving God over men, over and over again.

 

Leave a Reply

